Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health - Epsilon Kappa Chapter Information

About Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health

The Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health was founded in 1924 at Johns Hopkins University within the School of Hygiene and Public Health (now known as Bloomberg School of Public Health) by two graduate students, Dr. Edgar Erskine Hume and Dr. Claude W. Mitchell. 

At the time, public health as a profession was still in its infancy and, prior to the establishment of university-based education in public health, entrance into the field had been largely through practical experience and political favor. To promote the graduate student of the field, Dr. Hume and Dr. Mitchell organized this honorary society in order to recognize outstanding achievement in the new field. See

About our Epsilon Kappa Chapter 

Epsilon Kappa Chapter of the Delta Omega Honorary Society in Public Health was established at the Wayne State University's Department of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences in June 2021 by MPH Program Director, Dr. Rachel Mahas and through the support of Dr. Juliann Binienda and Professor Michael McLeod, JD, MPH. 

Member Benefits 

Delta Omega members have a number of benefits available. At the national level, the society offers all chapters and members with leadership development and publication opportunities, networking opportunities, and discounted resources (example, discounted Certified in Public Health (CPH) exam). To learn more about the benefits of joining this organization please see

2024 Delta Omega - Epsilon Kappa Chapter Inductees 

  • Nora Akcasu
  • Pranav Chalasani
  • Janine Lowe
  • Alyssa Zokvic